
CoupStore may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes your price or how we rank picks.
Quick verdict
Best for: you want ring-based sleep and recovery tracking with no monthly bill. RingConn Gen 3 is $349 with 'No Subscription Required' on ringconn.com, checked October 27, 2026.
Skip if: you already pay for Oura and use its membership features like Cycle Insights or Cardio Capacity every week. Switching means a new app and new scores to learn.
Best offer right now: RingConn lists the Gen 2 at $299 with a 'Save $70' label and the Gen 2 Air at $199 on its own store (checked October 27, 2026). No Black Friday 2026 pricing has been announced.
An Oura Ring 5 starts at $399, and the membership that runs most of its features costs $5.99 a month in the US. Over two years that fee adds $143.76, which is why most Oura ring alternatives sell on one line: no subscription.
We read the price, membership, return and warranty pages for Oura, RingConn, Ultrahuman and Hume Health on October 27, 2026, then totalled 24 months of ownership for each. Samsung's US store blocked our page reader, so Galaxy Ring prices come from dated news reports and are labelled that way. Our verification process explains how we date every price.
One thing to settle first. RingConn's Gen 3 page says plainly that the ring is not a medical device and its apps are not meant to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any condition. We found no FDA clearance claim on the Oura, RingConn or Hume Health pages we read, so read every health feature below as a trend, not a test result.
What do Oura ring alternatives cost over 2 years?
The method is simple. Ring price plus 24 months of any fee the maker charges to see your own data. Optional add-ons get their own figure, because you can skip them.
| Ring | Ring price | Required fee | 2-year total | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oura Ring 5 (Silver, Black) | $399 | $5.99/mo or $69.99/yr | $542.76 monthly, $538.98 annual | Oura Ring 5, Membership |
| Oura Ring 5 (Gold, Stealth, Brushed Silver, Deep Rose) | $499 | $5.99/mo or $69.99/yr | $642.76 monthly, $638.98 annual | Oura Ring 5 |
| RingConn Gen 3 | $349 | None | $349 | Gen 3 page |
| RingConn Gen 2 | $299 | None | $299 | Gen 2 page |
| RingConn Gen 2 Air | $199 | None | $199 | Gen 2 Air page |
| Samsung Galaxy Ring | $399 list | None | $399 | 9to5Google, Apr 30, 2026 |
| Ultrahuman Ring PRO with case | $479 | None (Max plan optional, $9.99/mo) | $479, or $718.76 with Max monthly | Ultrahuman US store |
| Hume Band 2.0 (wrist band, not a ring) | $356 | None required | $356, or $571.76 with $8.99/mo premium | Hume Band 2.0, Wareable review |
Prices checked October 27, 2026 on each brand's US store unless the source column names a news report. Monthly Oura total is $399 + (24 x $5.99). Annual is $399 + (2 x $69.99).
The gap is the story. Over two years an Oura Ring 5 on monthly billing costs $542.76, while a RingConn Gen 2 Air costs $199. That leaves you $343.76, enough to buy a second Gen 2 Air with $144.76 to spare.
Against the RingConn Gen 3 at $349, Oura costs $193.76 more over the same 24 months. Oura's membership page says new members get the first month free, which trims the monthly total to $536.77. Year three widens the gap by another $69.99 on annual billing.
Which Oura features stop working without a membership?
Oura's support article on membership lists what you keep without paying: the three daily scores (Readiness, Activity and Sleep), ring battery, basic profile details, app settings and the Explore content. You can still download your data through the Membership Hub.
Everything else sits behind the fee. Oura names detailed sleep analysis, 24/7 heart rate, blood oxygen sensing, daytime stress, Cardio Capacity (VO2 Max), Cycle Insights and Strava integration as membership features.
So a $399 Oura with no membership shows three scores and not much more. That is why our table counts the fee as required, not optional.
Do the alternatives lock any features behind a fee?
How long does each battery last, by the maker's own claims?
Every figure here is a manufacturer claim, not something we measured. Oura and RingConn both say runtime depends on ring size and usage.
| Ring | Claimed battery per charge | With charging case | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oura Ring 5 | 6 to 9 days, by size and usage | Not stated | Oura Ring 5 page |
| RingConn Gen 3 | Up to 14 days | Case sold separately at $79 | Gen 3 page |
| RingConn Gen 2 | 10 to 12 days | 150 days | Gen 2 page |
| RingConn Gen 2 Air | Up to 10 days, 90-minute fast charge | Not stated | Gen 2 Air page |
| Samsung Galaxy Ring | Up to 7 days (sizes 5 to 11), 6 days (12 and 13) | Not stated | Notebookcheck launch report |
| Ultrahuman Ring PRO | Up to 15 days (Turbo Mode about 12) | Up to 45 days | Ultrahuman US store |
| Hume Band 2.0 | Up to 14 days | Not applicable | Hume Band 2.0 |
Think in charges per year. At Oura's 6 to 9 days you plug in roughly 41 to 61 times a year, while RingConn Gen 3's claimed 14 days works out to about 26.
Two caveats from the makers and reviewers. RingConn's Gen 2 FAQ says switching on its sleep apnea monitoring may increase power use. Hume's Band 2.0 page claims up to 14 days, yet Wareable's reviewer of the earlier Hume Band reported charging every 2.5 to 3 days.
How does the sizing kit work before you order?
Smart ring sizes don't match jewelry sizes exactly, so each brand here pushes a sizing kit first. The rules around those kits differ more than the rings do.
How does Oura's sizing kit work?
Oura offers a free kit and asks you to wear the sizer for at least 24 hours, including overnight. There are no half sizes, and its returns FAQ says the Ring 5 kit runs sizes 6 to 13.
How does RingConn's sizing kit work?
You pick the Free Sizing Kit option at checkout, the kit arrives in 3 to 8 days, and you submit your size under My Orders. RingConn suggests trying the index, middle or ring finger.
Read the fine print. RingConn's policy treats kits as consumables that can't be returned, and cancelling after the kit ships costs $10.
What about Samsung and Ultrahuman kits?
Ultrahuman's free kit covers sizes 5 to 14 and is yours to keep, with no return needed. Samsung offers sizing kits for the Galaxy Ring, which comes in sizes 5 to 13 per Droid Life's launch coverage.
Which brand gives you the longest return window?
| Brand | Return window | Main conditions | Warranty | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hume Health | 45 days from receipt | Original packaging, like-new, bought direct, pre-authorized. You pay return shipping unless defective. | Standard term not stated. 10-year add-on $46 at checkout. | Hume returns policy |
| Oura | 30 days from receipt (online store) | Fully working, all items returned, one return or exchange per item. Original shipping not refunded. | 1 year from purchase. Batteries and wear excluded. | Return FAQ, Warranty |
| RingConn | 14 days from delivery | Valid reason: defect, wrong color or not as described. Unopened, unused. You pay return shipping unless RingConn is at fault. | 1 year (US). Battery replacement not covered. | Return policy |
| Samsung | Samsung.com blocked our reader | |||
| Ultrahuman | . Max plan adds damage, loss and theft support. | Ultrahuman US store |
This is RingConn's weak spot. Its return policy lists defects, the wrong color or an item that differs from its description as valid reasons, and asks for an unopened product. A ring you simply dislike after a week may not qualify.
Oura's 30 days is the safer trial if you aren't sure a ring suits you at all. Hume's 45 days is the longest on this page, though Hume sells a wrist band and scales, not a ring.
Which Oura ring alternative should you buy?
RingConn Gen 3: lowest 2-year cost at the $349 tier
The Gen 3 is $349 with no subscription and a claimed 14 days per charge. RingConn lists Vascular Health Trends, Sleep Apnea Pattern Insights and Women's Full-Cycle Predictions as features, and the ring vibrates for sedentary reminders and low battery.
You can pay with an HSA or FSA card through Flex at checkout, and the Gen 3 page offers up to $70 in trade-in credit. RingConn settled its US patent fight with Oura and pays royalties, so it can keep selling here, per Wareable.
RingConn Gen 2 Air: the cheapest ring here at $199
The Gen 2 Air is $199, claims up to 10 days per charge and fast charges in 90 minutes. RingConn calls it its entry-level ring with the core health features included.
Don't wait for November on this one. RingConn's 2025 Black Friday post said the Gen 2 Air was excluded from the discount and stayed at $199.
Samsung Galaxy Ring: no fee, and it has hit $299 before
Samsung lists the Galaxy Ring at $399 and sold it for $299 on Samsung.com in April 2026 and again in June 2026, per 9to5Google and SamMobile. Samsung claims up to 7 days per charge on sizes 5 to 11.
Non-partner pick, included for comparison. No affiliate link.
Ultrahuman Ring PRO: longest claimed battery, with legal noise
Ultrahuman's US store prices the Ring PRO with its charging case at $479 and claims up to 15 days per charge, or 45 with the case. Android Central reported a $399 ring-only option in March 2026.
The risk is legal, not technical. Ultrahuman's earlier rings lost US import access in October 2025 after Oura's ITC case. On October 23, 2026, the5krunner reported a new Oura complaint, with Ultrahuman saying the Ring PRO stays on sale.
Non-partner pick, included for comparison. No affiliate link.
Oura Ring 5: the benchmark you're comparing against
Silver and Black cost $399, other finishes $499, with a claimed 6 to 9 days per charge. Oura gives you 30 days to return a ring bought on its store and a 1-year warranty.
Non-partner pick, included for comparison. No affiliate link.
Hume Health: not a ring, but the pick for body composition
Hume Health doesn't sell a smart ring. Its Band 2.0 is a screenless wrist wearable listed at $356 and shown as sold out on October 27, 2026. Hume says it tracks sleep, recovery, heart rate and blood pressure trends.
Hume's other line is the Hume Pod body composition scale. Its store lists The Hume Pod at $229 (compare-at $299) and the Hume Pod 2.0 at $384. If what you actually want is body composition rather than sleep scores, no ring on this page weighs you.
Hume's homepage offers 10% off your first order when you register, which takes a $229 Pod to $206.10. Its 45-day return window is the longest here.
What did RingConn and Oura run on Black Friday last year?
Neither brand had announced Black Friday 2026 pricing when we checked on October 27, 2026. Black Friday falls on November 27 this year, so 2025 is the best guide you have, based on past years only.
Run the maths on that Oura deal. $249 plus 24 months at $5.99 comes to $392.76, so a full-price RingConn Gen 3 at $349 still costs $43.76 less over two years.
If RingConn repeats its pattern, order the sizing kit in early November so your size is settled before the main sale opens. We'll track live offers on our Black Friday deals page and in electronics coupons.
Oura ring alternatives FAQs
Is there an Oura ring alternative with no subscription?
Yes. RingConn's Gen 3, Gen 2 and Gen 2 Air pages all say 'No Subscription Required', and Samsung doesn't charge anything after you buy the Galaxy Ring. Ultrahuman sells an optional plan, but says data access on the Ring PRO has no recurring fee.
How much does Oura membership cost per year?
$69.99 a year or $5.99 a month for US members before tax, per Oura's membership page on October 27, 2026. New members get the first month free.
Can you use an Oura ring without the membership?
Yes, with limits. Oura's support page says you keep the three daily scores, battery status, profile and settings, while detailed sleep analysis, 24/7 heart rate and Cycle Insights need membership.
Is RingConn a medical device?
No. RingConn's Gen 3 page says the ring is not a medical device and its apps are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease or condition.
Which smart ring has the longest battery life?
By maker claims, Ultrahuman's Ring PRO at up to 15 days, then RingConn Gen 3 at up to 14 days. Oura claims 6 to 9 days for the Ring 5. These are brand figures, not independent tests.
Can I pay for a smart ring with an HSA or FSA card?
RingConn says its rings are HSA/FSA eligible and takes those cards through Flex at checkout. Hume lists its Band as HSA-FSA eligible. RingConn notes that savings vary with your plan.
What should you do next?
If the 2-year maths settles it, order RingConn's free sizing kit today and sleep in it before you choose between the Gen 3 at $349 and the Gen 2 Air at $199.
About the author
Ethan Brooks, Shopping editor
Ethan writes CoupStore's store guides and Top 15 lists for shoppers in the US: what a store sells, how its pricing and delivery work, and which offers are worth using.

